Hello!

Greetings!

I’m Dr. Furious, a not-so-evil (but getting there) genius who has turned to blogging as a means of self-expression, introspection, and frankly, having a life.

I’m starting off with the Retro Mac theme because I have to confess it’s pretty darn cool.  I’ve never owned a Mac or used one for more than 90 minutes, but still . . . it’s cool.

What do I intend to do with this blog?  Gee, I don’t really know.  I mean, I had something in mind when I first approached WordPress, and I think I may still try to implement those ideas.  The problem is that, despite being not-so-evil, I can be flighty; what interests me today may not have such a place on my mind tomorrow.  Goodness knows that my home is filled with half-completed projects, and my fear is doing the same thing here.  I’m going to try to limit myself to a number of random topics, though, in an attempt to focus.  Won’t be easy, but we’ll see.

So what kind of ideas am I considering?  Well, food, for starters.  In my free time, I like (or I should say, I used to like) cooking.  I have a minor collection of cookbooks, and among them are a number of reprints of vintage (pre-20th century) cookery texts.  I like to experiment with these every once in a while, but I haven’t limited myself to the 16th or 17th century; I also like post-WWII era cookbooks.  Betty Crocker, et al., put out a number of cool and bizarre cookbooks between 1950 and 1968, that are just weird enough to make me want to try their offerings.  I’m trying to get back into food, and historical food production, so I’m hoping that this digital endeavor will help put me in the right frame of mind (especially since living in an apartment rules out any possibility of growing my own corn, green peppers, onions, or raising any hogs).

And as you might see, I’m also into retro items: packaging, clothing, music – I like them all.  I’m a big fan of antique shops/malls, and until I ran out of space (and motivation), I was a frequent customer of area shops.  I think it’s very interesting that a large amount of the “retro” phenomenon that’s taking place today does so in the context of food and food packaging.  As of this writing, in fact, I can go to a local store and buy breakfast cereal, potato chips, soda, beer, and even ice cream, all in retro-themed packaging, and in many cases, using retro-recipes.

Other things, as they interest me, might appear on these pages, but I really want to avoid the whole “stream of consciousness” thing.  I’m also not interested in posting pages of anti-social complaints (to justify the “Furious” moniker).   So again, I’m really thrilled about this project and can’t wait to see what develops!

Leave a Reply

