On the Shelf

Wow . . . it’s been over a month since my last post, and I hadn’t intended for that to happen.

Truth be told, I thought I’d have something cool to say about any Thanksgiving activities, but it was pretty blah and plain.  No new recipes, nothing done in a particularly noteworthy manner.  Don’t get me wrong – it was nice, but that was about it.

Since then, however, I’ve done very little cooking and even less in terms of “fun stuff.”  The end of the term meant that I had to knuckle down with work, and now that it has all ended, I’m free to do experiment a bit with my free time.

On the shelf I have a copy of Patrick Faas’ Around the Roman Table: Food and Feasting in Ancient Rome (Palgrave Macmillan, 2003), so I’m considering doing something from it.  I also happen to have Sandra Sherman’s Fresh From the Past: Recipes and Revelations from Moll Flanders Kitchen (Taylor Trade, 2004), so I might even attempt something from the early eighteenth century – which, oddly enough, would fit in just fine with that Digby mead.

And then there’s something I’ve always wanted to do but put on the back burner years ago:  Dana McCauley’s Last Dinner on the Titanic: Menus and Recipes from the Legendary Liner (Hyperion, 1997) is something that I’ve wanted to experiment with since it hit the bookstores fifteen years ago.  Unlike some other materials I’ve read on the Titanic, McCauley’s book attempts to recreate the final meals that would have been served to all of those on that ill-fated vessel.  While I’m not partial to Edwardian style meals – too much fat for my tastes – there are a number of things that sound too good to pass up.

Yep . . . lots of good things to consider and try over the next couple of weeks . . .

Leave a Reply

