Bad Mead

Remember the Digby Mead that I started about eight months ago?

I hadn’t talked about it since late last year because all I could do was let it age.  The key problem, as noted then, is that I’d failed to properly adjust the amount of water that the mead required; there was too much and that diluted the taste.  My hope was that time would cause the water to either evaporate off or something – I don’t know what I expected – but I thought that everything would work out in the end.

Nope – that didn’t happen.  A recent tasting revealed that the mead had actually gotten worse.  It was horrible.  So with little fanfare, I made the decision to toss it down the drain.  I’m debating about restarting, but I don’t know.  In any case, it’ll be a while before I tackle it.

Leave a Reply

