Another Blast From the Past

Another day, another trip to the antique store, and another set of small scores . . .

ShakersFirst up, a pair of mid-century Superlon plastic salt and pepper shakers.  This was weird because I was looking for something ’40s-ish, and when I saw these on a vendor’s shelf, I thought that they looked the part.  It wasn’t until I got them home and did a little research that I learned that they were probably mid-to-late 1950s, and when I saw what they were going for online, I was relieved that I actually got them.  They’re clean, intact, and serviceable, although I don’t know if I’ll keep them for use or display.  Now if I only had red and white dishes . . .

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThen there was this mid-70s era clock with the flipping digits.  It could be earlier, but I doubt it – there are no markings other than the Sears Roebuck tag on the bottom.  I don’t know why I’d been looking for one of these; I think it was because I just had it in my head that my bedroom clock was of this style and when, out of curiosity, I decided to check, I learned that it’s digital.  After that, I thought it’d be need to find one of the earlier versions.

This one is nice and it works – I plugged it in and it kept great time.  It was also cheap, which I assume was due to the sun-stained discoloration on the plastic shell.  The alarm is loud, too.  Staining aside, it’s a clean piece of equipment.  I like it a lot.

Truth be told, I’m surprised that no one’s bothered to make a reproduction of this style of clock.  I’m serious.  A few years ago, Wesclox issued replicas of three of their mid-century designs, the 1964 Big Ben and Baby Ben desk clocks, and their 1969 Travel clock.  There were some short-cuts taken, Clock4obviously, but for the most part they were identical to their original counterparts.  A flip-digit clock might be interesting to replicate, and with so much interest in mid-to-late century life going on now, I’d think that a limited edition would sell quite nicely.

Well, there wasn’t much else that I either wanted or could afford (although I do have an eye on a pair of walnut colored mid-century end tables) on this jaunt, so I left to hit a local grocery for a few things.  That’s when I found my last “antique” for the day:

Twinkies!

Oh, yeah . . .

Leave a Reply

