Antiquing Again

I’ve been on another vintage kick, and that translates into more time at the various antique malls in the area. 

I’m very fortunate in that I live in an area that gives me access to no fewer than eight decent OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAantique malls (or shops).  That doesn’t sound like a lot, I know, but I’m finding that some areas don’t have access to even one decent shop.  So I’m in a really good place to have these unpredictable, and often expensive, moods.

These two photos are of two of my most recent acquisitions.  The nut caddy is something that just called out to me.  My parents had a nut caddy that may have been similar to this one.  Truthfully, I don’t remember.  I just know that it was stored in a drawer beneath the glass panes of the China cabinet in our dining room.  I was never big on nuts, but my mom would pull this thing out during the holidays and the occasional “adult” party and fill it with a mix of nuts for their guests.

This one is porcelain and small – I’ve not measured it, but I’d be surprised if the dish was larger than eight inches on each side.  It’s in surprisingly good shape, too.  I’ve seen a few of these caddies in the days since my purchase, but none were in as great a shape as this one.  Not a bad steal for $8.

The same can be said of my small glass vase.  Again, we had something

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAlike this when I was a kid, although I remember it as being at least three times the hight of this one.  My vase (which was also just $8) is small and compact, but in excellent shape.  The funny thing to me is that I never realized that these things were vases; I thought they were just some 1950s/60s table decorations.  I couldn’t understand, for example, why they were so expensive – most of the ones I’ve found were $20 or more.  Finding this one made it slightly easier for me to see why they were so costly.

I’m actually thinking of re-doing my home entirely in a mid-century motif.  Maybe not the whole home, but at least a room.  Preferably, the living room.  The hardest part would be in dealing with a television, I suppose, but everything else would be a piece of cake.  A hi-fi, the flat expressionless sofa, and the oblong coffee table – it’s all out there waiting for me.  I’m thinking a “circa 1964” look.

This is funny because a few years ago, I started buying a lot of late 1950s/early 1960s era music.  Must have something like 5 GB of MP3 files on my computer.  Anyway, I made a tape for the car (yes, I am the last man on Earth who still has a car cassette deck), and it was lovingly named “The 1964 Tape” because every song on it was available prior to December 1964.  No clue why I’ve fixated on that year, but it’s starting to feel really cool to me.

Of course, I’ll need to bring the Little Woman on board with all of this, and that’s no easy feat.  I’ll need to think further on this . . .

 

 

Leave a Reply

