Mystery Music

Thought I’d take a few minutes to experiment with the idea of embedding video on this site.  I’ve never done it before because I’ve never really had anything I’ve wanted to add.  But while bumming around You Tube, I found some of my favorite Agatha Christie/PBS themes and decided that this was as good a time as any to share something (especially considering how whiny I’ve been as of late).

The first is the piece called Redemption, by Christian Henson, that was used as the closing for Murder on the Orient Express (2013).  This is one of my favorite adaptations of a Christie book, but I’ll write more on it later.  If you haven’t seen this version, realize that there’s a reason that Hercule Poirot (David Suchet) has such a grim visage:

This is the theme for Miss Marple (2010) by Dominik Scherrer:

And this is Scherrer’s theme, “Eddie Seward,” as used in the Miss Marple episode, “The Blue Geranium” (2010):

 

Even though all three are associated with mysteries – and dastardly crimes, at that – I find all three to be wonderful compositions.  I can’t play an instrument myself, so perhaps that’s why I hold musicians and composers in high regard.

Leave a Reply

