Stuffed Peppers!

Perhaps it was just so that I could say that I’ve accomplished something today, but I went back into the kitchen . . .Turns out that the Little Woman has never tried stuffed bell peppers before, and whenever she tells me that she’s never tried something, I take it as an invitation to introduce her to it.  Frankly, I haven’t had stuffed peppers myself in a good, long time – but I remembered how good they were, and that was enough for me.  That, and the fact that my recipe was so simple that I had to give it a shot.

These are two of them, pre-baking, and as you can see, there’s a mix of materials in the stuffing.  (I didn’t think to photograph the final product; they’re gone now, so it’s kind of a moot point.)  In this case, ground beef, chopped onion, chopped garlic, seasoned diced tomatoes, rice, and shredded cheese.

Stuffed PeppersI didn’t use long grain rice as I tend to have some weird reaction to most types of rice.  No lie – Minute Rice is the only kind of rice I can eat without choking!  I don’t know why, but rice tends to clump in my throat as I swallow, so as much as I love rice, I don’t eat it very often, and I certainly don’t eat anything other than Minute Rice.  As a result, the process was not as labor-intensive as I’d remembered.  When finished, I sprinkled with more shredded cheese – really good!   The Little Woman was duly impressed.

The recipe is, technically, not my own, but here it is anyway:

  • 6 Large Bell Peppers
  • 1 lb of Ground Beef
  • 1/2 c. Birds Eye Recipe Ready Chopped Onions and Garlic
  • 1/2 c. Minute Rice, cooked
  • 1 can (15 oz.) of diced tomatoes
  • 1 tsp. Seasoned Salt
  • Dash of black pepper
  • 1 tsp. Worcestershire Sauce
  • 1 c. Shredded Cheese
  1. First, cook the rice.
  2. Fill a separate pot – I used a 5 qt. Dutch oven – about half full with water and set to boil.
  3. While the rice cooks, cut off the tops of the peppers and remove the seeds.  Rinse the inside of the peppers and drain.
  4. Take pepper tops and chop off at least 1/4 c. of pepper; put aside.
  5. Cook the ground beef, onion and garlic blend, and the 1/4 c. of chopped pepper, until brown; drain the fat from the meat mixture, then add undrained tomatoes, the cooked rice, salt, Worcestershire Sauce, and the dash of black pepper.  Bring to a boil, then reduce heat; cover.
  6. Cook peppers in boiling water (Dutch oven) for 5 minutes; remove and drain.
  7. Stir cheese into meat mixture; carefully stuff peppers with said mixture.
  8. Place peppers carefully into a 10″x6″x2″ pan.  Bake covered at 350F for 30 minutes.
  9. It should go without saying, but when finished, the pan will be hot, so be careful in handling it!
  10. I topped mine with more shredded cheese; you might want to do the same.

While this is the basic recipe, I should note a couple of things.  I used a can of Hunt’s Diced Tomatoes with Basil, Garlic, and Oregano – meaning that I had additional spices that the recipe did not specify.  I have not tried the recipe with plain tomatoes, so I can’t vouch for any differences in taste.  The original recipe called for Cheddar cheese, but I prefer Colby – even better, a Colby/Monterey Jack blend, which is what I used.

While good, there is a bit of blandness, so the next attempt will likely involve a few more spices to give the peppers a little “kick.”

Felt great to get back into the kitchen; I’ll have to do more of it and soon…

Leave a Reply

