Bad Business, pt. II

It’s weird how things tend to play out.

I’d previously written about my negative experience with an online company.  In sum, a screw-up in the ordering process left me without information, despite multiple requests for an update.  In the end, it turned out that the merchandise was non-existent, and there had been a serious misunderstanding. Well, today I received the official word on what happened.Seems that everything happened as stated above – mistakes were made.  The product in question had long been out of stock and I shouldn’t have been able to put it into my online cart.  Apparently, I wasn’t the only one to have had that experience, hence today’s actions:  In an effort to maintain my support, the company has graciously given me a nice little discount on a future order.

While I was not looking for any such compensation, I will take it in the spirit in which it is being offered.  I detest people who feel that their ‘inconvenience’ warrants some egregious compensation – the merchandise must be given to them at no cost, or they some how deserve to have something of a far greater value.  Usually, when I’ve called a company out on something like this, the first thing I tell them is that I don’t want anything, save for the problem to be fixed. If they want to give me something, then great.  But all I really want is for the problem to go away.

This often results in expressions of incredulity (when it happens face-to-face), and disbelief (in e-mails and telephone calls).  I don’t understand that.  Why should I get rewarded because of a mistake?

So thank you Unnamed Company.  I appreciate that you were willing to own the error.  The discount is appreciated, too.  Don’t know if I’ll use it anytime soon, but I am certainly thankful for the thought.

Leave a Reply

