A Classmate

I learned, completely by accident, that a high school classmate passed away two weeks ago.

We had one class together – Advanced Biology – and while we were cordial and even shared a joke or two, I don’t think that we ever shared another word once the course ended.

Her obituary indicated that she led a quiet, private life.  It failed to mention the cause of death, and while I’m curious, I don’t think that I’ve earned the right to seek out that information on my own, but the obituary mentioned that she passed peacefully.

I don’t know why her passing bothers me.

Leave a Reply

