Cheeseburger Pizza?

Well, I did it.

Made a “Double Cheeseburger” pizza this afternoon and it pretty much turned out as expected.  DCPizza BThis might have been a no-brainer for others, but I’ve only recently started making my own pizzas.  I mean, I’ve make a pizza from scratch before, but it was the typical “cheese and sausage” type with tomato sauce and mozzarella cheese; nothing beyond that.  Then there were the chicken Alfredo pizzas, which really began because the local eatery that made them wanted too much for what little food they provided.  I thought, “Gee, I can do this,” so I did.  And there were the breakfast pizzas, but I gave those up years ago when I realized that the cholesterol was just too much per person.

But this marks a significant departure from what I’ve usually done.  And it’s actually pretty good.  Lots-o-cheese (hence “double” cheeseburger), but tasty.  I use a lot of onion and green bell peppers on those rare occasions now when I cook, and they really help with the flavor.  What’s interesting is the Worcestershire Sauce and the Liquid SmokeWhen I make hamburgers, I use both – in fact, everything here, save for the cheeses, the cheese sauce, and the crust, is what I incorporate into one of my homemade hamburgers.  So it should be no surprise that I would use that as the starting point for my pizza.  I can’t say that I’ll make it too often, but when I get tired of tomatoes and tomato sauce, then this will make a decent alternative.

Recipe

  • 1 pound of ground beef
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 small green bell pepper
  • Seasoned Salt (to taste)
  • Black Pepper (to taste)
  • Worcestershire Sauce (to taste)
  • Liquid Smoke (several drops)
  • 1 jar Cheddar cheese sauce (I used Ragu)
  • Pizza crust
  • 2 cups (or more) shredded Mozzarella cheese  (I also added shredded Monterrey/Colby blend to mine, so I probably used about 3 cups total)
  1. Preheat your oven to 350F.  (If your pizza dough has different instructions, follow them instead.)
  2. Brown your ground beef.  Add salt and black pepper.  Once finished, add Worcestershire Sauce and Liquid Smoke.  Mix together as best you can.
  3. Add chopped vegetables and simmer for a few minutes (to cook them).  Add Cheddar cheese sauce and let mixture simmer.
  4. Meanwhile, prepare your pizza dough and arrange on pan.  If dough requires pre-baking, do that before next step.
  5. Once pizza crust is ready, take meat/cheese mixture and pour onto crust.  Spread evenly over crust surface.
  6. Top with shredded cheese and bake for 15 minutes.  If not done, continue to bake in five minute increments, to ensure that it is done but not burned.
  7. When satisfied, remove pizza from oven (which will be hot; take care), and let cool for several minutes.
  8. Cut and enjoy.  Be careful as the cheese sauce will definitely be hot!

This is, essentially, what I did.  Your results may vary. I would, however, be very interested in hearing the experiences of others with this dish.  I list “to taste” for some ingredients because these are things that I ordinarily add to excess; not everyone will share my enthusiasm for Worcestershire Sauce, so I don’t want you to feel that it’s a necessary component.  If you choose not to add it, so be it.  I felt, however, that it would create an interesting taste, and it did.

Leave a Reply

