Rolling the Die

Despite an unbelievably full workload, I am desperately attempting to figure out my Age of Rebellion (AOR) and Edge of the Empire (EOTE) game rules.  I know that this would be a lot easier if I simply joined a club or found someone familiar with the gaming system and had them teach me what to do.  That would make the most sense – I agree with you.  But I honestly don’t have a lot of free time, and the only Star Wars Booksperson whom I suspect might be of help has been unavailable, thus far.  I haven’t even had the opportunity to tell her why I need her help.

One of the things that I’ve been doing in the meantime is combing through my collection of Star Wars manuals for additional information.  While there were a lot of things wrong with the way in which Lucasfilms managed their franchise, the one area in which they excelled (so to speak) was in their attempts to flesh out their canonical galaxy.  Of course, when it came to the Expanded Universe, things got ridiculously goofy, but at least there seemed to be some consistency with the details from book to book.

To be honest, I’ve only read three Star Wars novels in my life:  The original novelization of Star Wars (what’s now “A New Hope“) when I was in junior high school; the novelization of The Empire Strikes Back, a few years later, and Tarkin, a recent book about the Grand Moff Tarkin who died in the destruction of the first Death Star.  What you see above reflects my love of technical manuals.

Trust me, I’m just as boring in real life, too.

Yes, I love tech manuals.  Don’t ask me why.  I think that they flesh out a fictional universe in ways that novels or movies can’t.  They provide a sense of consistency and universal law that makes such an environment legitimate.  In the books above, I have access to standards regarding clothing, equipment, weapons, vehicles, planets, and culture.  It’s a veritable encyclopedia of the Star Wars universe.  What better source  upon which to rely as I try to flesh out a character in a RPG game?

Years ago, I thought that I’d try my hand at writing – for my eyes only – a Star Trek novel.  It never added up to much; I had a captain and bridge crew, a ship and the beginnings of a backstory, but I had no villain, no crisis, and no plot.  The captain, my most detailed character when I stopped working on it, was a man who was probably more cliched that I care to admit – yet he was interesting to me.  Dealing with personal loss and the depression that followed, his appointment as commanding officer of this Federation ship was his last shot at quieting his self-doubt and fear.  It was also his last shot at redemption for past mistakes.  Granted, that’s virtually every anti-hero that I can think of, but I thought it made a good starting point.  Unfortunately, I didn’t get too far from that.  Real life took over and before long, my dabbling in the 24th century came to an abrupt end.

My thinking, therefore, is that I can salvage what I did previously and apply that to the character I’d like to create within these games.  I’ve got some ideas and I might post a few for comment.  The short version is that I’d be interested in using the same character at two different points in his life – a young member of the Rebellion for AOR, and an older, disenchanted version for EOTE.  Star Wars is such a fantastic sandbox – I’m sure that there’s more than enough room in this universe for what I’m envisioning.  We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

