Feed Me!

I chose not to sleep.

Yeah, I know; I didn’t want to throw off my sleep schedule, especially since that’s becoming a joke as it is.  So I stayed up and tackled some of that work I’d been complaining about.  Originally, I’d planned this lengthy narrative about film soundtracks, but I’ve since rethought that position.  Why not discuss dental surgery?  It’s just as interesting, I suppose.

Instead, I just say a few things about food.  I want to get back into cooking.  Right now, I just don’t have the time.  Worse, the Little Woman is never at home.  I don’t know which bothers me more, but together they’re quite the pair.  For dinner today I made another Chicken Alfredo pizza, and while it tasted just as good as the first ten of them that I’ve made over the last year or so, I’m kind of getting tired of making Chicken Alfredo pizzas.

I want meatloaf with mashed potatoes and gravy.  Maybe with whole kernel corn (my go-to-veggie) and Brussels sprouts, and a hot dinner roll on the side.  I could also go for fried fresh lake perch – something I rarely get because I hate deep-frying food. (The oil tends to spray all over the kitchen; if that slick floor doesn’t kill me, the stench from the oil’s odor will.)  I’d really love homemade stuffed manicotti, chicken cordon bleu, or anything other than another Chicken Alfredo pizza.

Meals used to be the highlight of our days.  We’d sit at the table together, eat, talk, and have a generally good time.  But now . . . we eat when we can.  If we’re together (and we’re not eating out), then we’re generally eating separately – not at the table, but in the living room, each with our own TV tray.  If we’re not together, a more frequent occurrence, then it’s even worse.  Too many things, including family, are sucking the life out of the Little Woman and me.  Too many things are taking, but not giving back.  I’m getting sick of this; I need to change that.

It’s time to reclaim some sanity.  I need to do this if I want to exercise any real control in my life.  How did I manage to give that up?

I will have to sit down this week with my cookbooks.  I may have to revisit my “Vintage Sundays” experiment again.  We’ll see – I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

