Ravioli Love

Every once in a while, I like to do little things to indulge myself.

You know, like wash the carTook the car out for its annual car wash.  Usually, I let Mother Nature help me out with that, but with the sudden spike in temperatures and the generally decent nature of the day, I decided that I’d let the clouds have the day off and I’d wash it myself.  Well, I didn’t even do that – I took it to an automatic car wash, which did a decent job of removing winter grime, but bent my car’s front license plate into some bizarre shape.

Still have to clean the inside of the car, and that’s no mean feat.  It’s not messy; it’s just got a lot of dust on the dash and in the nooks-and-crannies.  I’m not lazy; I just don’t want to do it.  Baby steps, people.  I was doing good just to get the car washed.

Naturally, it rained the next morning.

* * * * *

Broke down and prepared breaded cheese-filled ravioli, to which I added a white cheese sauce.  I can take or leave ravioli.  That’s not a slam against it; I’m just not particularly passionate about it.  I mean, it’s ravioli.  But the Little Woman would kill for a well-made plate of these stuffed pasta pockets, and that’s why I chose to prepare them tonight.  It’s cool to have someone who loves your cooking, but even more when that person loves certain dishes that you make.  I’ve made ravioli in one form or another for years, but I’m not particularly attached to it as a dish.  But these were breaded ravioli and I’d thought that they’d be fun.

I rarely deep fry foods; that’s something I gave up a few years ago because of the smell and the mess.  Oh, I’ll deep fry fresh lake perch on occasion, or homemade French fries every once-in-a-while, but otherwise, I avoid cooking foods that way.  I tend to bake a lot of foods that otherwise call for frying, and I enjoy them better.  Certainly less mess to clean up afterwards.

When I was at the grocery store, I smelled what seemed to be some type of meat loaf.  Now, I love meat loaf; always have.  The Little Woman didn’t care for it until I begged her to try a small portion; after that, she likes to think that she’s always loved the stuff.  Meat loaf is a kind of comfort food for me, I think – something that reminds me of my parents and the fact that we generally ate meals together.  None of this rushing around and multitasking over a plate like now.  I’m sure that most things weren’t as great as I recall them, but they were certainly less hectic.  I couldn’t find the source of the aroma at the store, and when I finally gave up my search, I’d just happen to be standing next to the freezer holding the ravioli.  It was fate, I suppose.

The ravioli was a huge surprise for the Little Woman.  In fact, by the time she was aware that I was even preparing them, I had already set up her plate with several (covered in sauce), with seasoned bread and Brussels sprouts (her new favorite veggie – something else that I had to beg her to try).

She’s happy now (as I knew she would be), so I’m content.  I love doing things like that for her.  Guess I just wanted to tell someone about it…

 

Leave a Reply

