Brownies!

Another “Why didn’t I think of that before” chapter in my life, this time concerning dessert. 

Yesterday, I got the taste for brownies.  I don’t make them much anymore; I really shouldn’t be eating as many sweets as I do in the first place, but I couldn’t shake the desire.  I don’t like prepackaged brownies (more fudge than brownie), so I decided to make my own.

I used to love brownies.  Years ago, I’d bake a huge pan of double (or triple) chocolate brownies just to have something sweet around the house.  For those not in the know, a double (or triple) brownie refers to the chocolate – double usually has chocolate chips added to the mixture; triple usually has either larger chunks of chocolate, or chunks and chips.  It’s a bit much, to be honest, and as I’ve aged, my kidneys and other organs have been less tolerant of sugar as they once were.  Let’s be blunt: I think I crossed the border into Diabetes-land long ago; I just haven’t done much about it.  Call me foolish or suicidal; I can’t really explain it.  Some days I’m really good in regulating things, but on other days, I totally suck at it.  Don’t yell at me; I know, okay?  I know.

Settled for the basic box recipe but with a difference:  Nestle’s makes a package that is divided between standard chocolate chips and peanut butter chips.  So, on a lark, I made the basic brownie, but added the chips just to see what would happen.

Wow.  I like this.  (I’ve only had a small piece to taste, but it’s good.)  Still too sweet, but I know now that this is something I’ll make for the next benefit/bake sale/function where I’ll need a dessert.

Leave a Reply

