The Greatest Thing Ever

BirdsEyeA

Need chopped veggies for your dish but aren’t interested in buying up the produce section at the local grocer’s?  Well, Birds Eye has something in the freezer section that you might want to check out.  I’ve known about these for about a year now, so forgive me for being late on the news.  Actually, check that.  I would have said something previously, but I assumed that others already knew; it’s only because people have been giving me a double-take that I’ve realized that I should share my secret.

In the frozen vegetable section of many (I won’t say ‘most’ because that’s not the case), you should be able to find Birds Eye’s Recipe Ready chopped vegetables.  The two above are their Chopped Green Peppers and Onions, and their Breakfast Blend, which contains chopped onion, green and red peppers, and potatoes.  There are about a half-dozen or so variations, including packages with chopped onion and garlic, and mixed vegetables for stews, fajitas, and stir-fry.

These are pretty decent sized bags that come in handy, especially when I want to cut corners on the cost of veggies that I might not otherwise need or use.  I measure out (usually, I eyeball it) what I need and go from there.  Making an omelet?  I spray a non-stick cooking spray into my pan, toss in about a half-cup of the Breakfast Blend to let it cook for a few minutes, and then add my diced ham, egg whites, and eventually, cheese.  Simple – and what I don’t use goes back into the freezer; no struggling to find a way to incorporate unused or partially used vegetables into another menus so as not to waste them.

 

Leave a Reply

