Magical Mystery Tour

Today was a Magical Mystery Tour kind of day.  Got up and saw the crisp blue sky, and the warmer-than-usual temps, and decided to let the day take charge.  No planning, no scheme, no . . . nothing.  I would let things happen as they might.  To go with the flow, you might say, and to let life surprise me with it’s awesomeness and wonder.

It’s been a pretty boring day.

It started when I realized that I was a week late in paying my utility bill.  Truthfully, I knew this a week ago, but I wasn’t motivated enough to write out the check to pay them.  I spent most of the week lacking that motivation, and last evening it dawned on me that I might get hit with another bill before I paid the first, so I thought I should do something about it.  I still wasn’t motivated to write the check, but I somehow found the strength within me to tough it out.  Fifteen seconds later, I was staring at a newly minted check for eighty dollars.  Because I didn’t want the utility to know that I’d been lazy this month, I backdated the check so that it appeared as though it’d been written on time, just not delivered as such.  (Sorry, USPS.)  All of this was rather pointless because I don’t mail my utility check; I take it to the payment box just outside the main office’s front door.  Maybe they’ll think that whoever was in charge of collecting the payments screwed up.  I hope.

Anyway, I kept thinking about the fact that I could do a lot of other things with the money in my hand.  It’s a miracle that I actually made it to the main office; in my mind, I’d spent that check at least a half-dozen times before I got there.  I walked over to the payment box and dropped in my envelope.  Goodbye, five-pound bag of M&M’s.  As I turned to walk away, I was greeted by a sign announcing the end of the payment box.  Seriously??  This is a box outside the main utility office.  No one has to go anywhere; just one employee with a key comes and collects the envelopes.  And now they’re putting an end to that as a cost savings?  Their solution – for those like me who hate buying stamps or hate paying using their wonky online service – pay it at a third-party station.  For the unenlightened, a third-party station is another business, like the corner drug store (you know, some business that has absolutely nothing to do with the utility) – that will allow you to pay utility bills as an act of “convenience.”  Oh, did I mention that the third-party station also charges you a fee for the privilege of paying your bill?  This is a scam if I’ve ever heard of one.  I guess I’m buying a boxload of postage stamps next month.

After that episode, I tried to locate an antique store.  We used to have this large antique mall near my home; I visited at least once a week and usually walked out with something or another.  I like old stuff – what can I say?  Truthfully, I could hang out at an antique store for hours if it’s interesting.  I like ephemera (small items, usually paper-based, like labels or boxes), and had a sizable collection of various items at one point.  I stopped visiting this particular mall a few years ago, and it’s only recently that I’ve developed the urge to return.  I heard that they’d lost their previous building, and that a new site opened several months ago.  So . . . I was off to find it.

Unfortunately, it was a fool’s errand.  I couldn’t find the new site, and it didn’t take long for me to toss in the towel.  I’m not finished; I’ll just have to sit down at my desktop and look up the location.  I’ve got two other antique malls that I visit, so it’s not like I’m without options.  But this one had been pretty decent, so I’m curious to see how it’s changed since my last visit.

From there, I roamed around town.  Visit to a gaming shop?  Check.  Visit to Barnes and Noble?  Check.  Standing outside a restaurant with a grill just to smell that charcoal aroma?  Check.  Because I’m looking for a particular book, I stopped at a local small bookstore in hopes that they would have a copy.  They didn’t.  But while there, I thought, “Gee, I’ll step in next door at Starbucks and get a small coffee.” Don’t cheer, kids – it was not to be.  Fortunately, the gal in front of me took more time than I would have liked, and I used the extra wait to actually look at the menu.  The cheapest size was $2.50.  Now, for some areas, that’s cheap; not here.  I could make coffee at home for the month for just $6 (and I make pretty decent java, thank you very much), so there’s no way that I could justify that.  I promptly backed out of line, and decided to finish my exploration.

Later, a trip to Trader Joe’s netted me their Bacon Cheddar Ranch Dip  (and a small sample of brewed coffee), and suddenly, the day did a 180 degree shift.  It’s been a long time since I’ve had that, and I’m glad that I picked up a tub.  It’s just as good as I remembered, but I’m starting to remember why I stopped buying it – the stuff’s addictive!

Maybe I was wrong.  Today’s turned out to be a lot more fun that I could have anticipated.  The weather was nice, the people were generally nice, and I’m sitting here with dip and chips.  Yeah, life will have to take charge more often, methinks.

Leave a Reply

