Another Good Day

The weather guys said that things would turn cold this weekend, and boy, they weren’t kidding.  There’s been a good twenty to thirty degrees difference in the last twenty-four hours, and I haven’t decided as to whether or not it’s welcomed.  It’s not as if I can control it, mind you, but I’m not sure if I’m ready for it.

For the most part, the day’s been pretty relaxing.  I like that, especially given that I’ve not had a truly relaxing day in quite some time.  The day began with me making coffee and watching programs I’d recorded on the DVR.  I have always loved space exploration and documentaries dealing with astronomy, so I’ve been saving them as they air.  For some strange reason, a channel that bills itself as The Science Channel doesn’t seem to televise a lot of actual science – but that’s neither here nor there.  I love their How the Universe Works show, and while it can be repetitive, I still find it extremely informative and educational.  Since they’re showing all of last season’s episodes – building up to the new season next week – I figured that I’d record them.  And that’s how my day began: No breakfast, per se; just coffee and a documentary telling me that one of these days, the universe was going to end.

Later, the Little Woman and I went out to window shop.  That’s what it’s called when you can’t really afford (or don’t actually need) the stuff that catches your eye.  We don’t need anything substantial, to be honest, so it was more of an opportunity to spend time together, something we do need.  The only thing we didn’t do – and it’s mainly because I’d totally forgotten it – was to have hot cocoa.

All in all, it was just nice to have time to do the things that I wanted to do.  No required attendance, no mandated presence – just a chance to obey the whims and desires of my own mind.  As I get older, I find myself becoming more frustrated by the demands of others; maybe that’s why I’m so possessive of the time that I put aside for myself.


I’ve been thinking about yesterday’s problem – whether to reach out to a former friend in their time of crisis – and I’ve come to the conclusion that I won’t.  I’ll keep a distant eye on things, but unless I’m asked to get involved, I just won’t do so.

My stance isn’t based in hostility or residual animosity; it’s common courtesy.  Who am I to barge in and announce “I’ll solve your problem“?  Sometimes people have to figure out things for themselves; that’s how we grow and learn.  One can’t do either if someone else is doing all of the proverbial heavy work.  I mean, we learned to walk when our parents sat back and let us stand and take that first step – and they knew that falling on our butts was a part of that learning process.  It’s just how things are done, I guess.

Ever the optimist, I believe that my old friendship might be salvageable.  But even if it isn’t, I can only position myself to help, and even then, only if I’m called upon to do so.  I’m not going to burden myself unnecessarily with a bag full of “What ifs;” that’s just selfishness on my part.  I know that this person is much stronger than they think, so I’m sure that they’ll resolve their issues and move on to a much better place.

God bless them. 

Leave a Reply

