A Welcomed Surprise

Last night, I received a telephone call regarding my sister.

I’d visited on Wednesday (both before and after work), and I knew that she was no longer sedated.  I also knew that she was awake, competent, and slowly coming to terms with what had happened to her.  So when I got the call last evening, I was prepared to hear that things were stable – and that’s about it.

Boy, was I surprised.

They took out her breathing tube,” my other sister said, “and she’s doing fine.”

I had to let that sink in for a moment.  They removed her breathing tube – that alone meant that she’d improved considerably since her arrival two weeks earlier.  But that “she was fine,” seemed like an overstatement.  In the time since, however, I’ve learned that my sister is doing much, much better – she’s coherent, aware of what happened and what’s going to happen, and there are signs of her own, odd humor.  My baby sister is back from the brink – and I couldn’t be happier.  I visited this morning and we talked – something I’d missed these last two weeks – and but for minor twitching in her hand, and a soft, strained voice, she was the same person she’d been before all of this began.  My prayers were answered, and despite the threat of so many negative things today (including a possible snowstorm this weekend), I’ve been very, very, happy.

Bear in mind that two weeks ago, her physician told me that she had a less-than-fifty-percent chance of recovery.  She’s not fully recovered, mind you – there’s still a long way to go.  But she’s alive and otherwise intact, and I’m so very thankful for that.

I’ve received a number of notes from folks wishing us all well during this trying period – thank you! 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Blessed news! Sending up more prayers! Hope you’ve got your list of new jokes ready for her!

    1. Doc Furious says:

      Thanks! And of course – we’ve already started!

Leave a Reply

